fr FR en EN

Latest News

Latest News of the society

- Even if several weeks have passed since the beginning of the deconfinement, meetings gathering too many people are still not possible. Under these conditions, the committee of the French Society of Egyptology held its meeting via the Internet on Tuesday, June 2, 2020. Despite the distance, the exchanges were numerous and dynamic and the life of our association was at the heart of a series debates, proposals and decision-making.

Rest assured that in the weeks and months to come, we will do everything to find you during public meetings, but also to inform you via our website, sending emails and the newsletter.

sfe meeting 02062020

__________________________________________________________________________________________

- You will find below some photos and videos of the SFE meeting held on February 01, 2020 in the INHA auditorium. You can also find other images in your member area.


News from Egyptology

ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE FRENCH SCHOOL ATHENS / LIVE STREAMING
03/06/2020 -19.00

______________________________________________________________________________________

- This week comes out the book Egypt and the Nile Valley, volume 3, late eras (1069-332 BC), PUF editions, a volume dedicated to late eras, from the XNUMXst dynasty until 'at the end of the XXXth dynasty. This is an opportunity for its author, Frédéric Payraudeau, lecturer at Sorbonne University (Paris), to present this innovative synthesis to us over an often overlooked period.

- On January 11, 2020, from 16:00 p.m., Mr. Bernard Mathieu will give a conference at the Association dauphinoise d'Égyptologie Champollion (ADEC), "Me, Inhermosé, high priest of Onouris"

- Call for papers Colloque Mariette, Two centuries after Boulogne-sur-Mer, 20-21 may 2021; Jean-Louis Podvin (Coastal Opal Coast University) & Didier Devauchelle (Lille University)

- On the occasion of the 140e anniversary of the birth of Jean-Louis Fougerousse (1879-1953), painter and architect of the Mission Montet between 1931 and 1939, Patrice Le Guilloux, a member of the MFFT, has just dedicated a book ,

- A new history textbook from Egypt at Armand-Colin

________________________________________________________________________________________

Company news

________________________________________________________________________________________

To the top fd

We are pleased to present you some photos and videos of our last public session of February 01, 2020 in the auditorium of the INHA.

meeting room

Meeting room

__________________________________________________________________

Alain Arnaudies

"Two unusual shots of the Karnak temple"

Alain Arnaudiès

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Simon Connor

"Transforming, reusing or usurping statues in ancient Egypt"

Simon Connor

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Massimiliano Nuzzolo

"The Stone of Palermo. New investigation and discoveries on the oldest Royal Egyptian Annals »

by Massimiliano Nuzzolo

_______________________________________________________________________________________

News from Egyptology

ANNUAL CONFERENCE OF THE FRENCH SCHOOL ATHENS

LIVE STREAMING
03 / 06 / 2020-19.00

SFE 28052020

____________________________________________________________________

payraudeau cover

This week is coming out Egypt and the Nile Valley, volume 3, late eras (1069-332 BC) PUF editions, a volume dedicated to late eras, since the XXIe dynasty until the end of the XXXe dynasty. This is an opportunity for its author, Frédéric Payraudeau, lecturer at Sorbonne University (Paris), to present this innovative synthesis to us over an often overlooked period.

SFE: This book was long overdue!

Brother Payraudeau: Indeed, this 3e volume of the Clio collection appears more than 25 years after the previous ones. It is paradoxically a chance, because the knowledge of these periods has evolved more deeply in the last 30 years than in the previous century. Today, they seem less marked by decadence than by successive adaptations that allowed Egyptian civilization to last a millennium after the fall of the Ramses. The proliferation of studies on late eras over the past 20 years, particularly in Europe, has significantly enriched the work but has slowed down its drafting, which has spanned over 8 years. The bibliography, however selective, spans 75 pages!

SFE: What were these great advances concerning these periods?

Brother Payraudeau: These questions do not arise in the same way for the Third Intermediate Period and the Late Period. For the first, the simple succession of pharaohs is still sometimes problematic but has progressed a lot since the work of Jean Yoyotte and Kenneth Kitchen. As for the Late Period, the historical knowledge was already solid, but the period was subject to a re-evaluation in the cultural field in particular. The art of these eras is now appreciated at its fair value by specialists in ancient Egypt as well as by the informed public, as shown by recent exhibitions at the Musée Jacquemart-André and the Musée de Grenoble. I am also happy to have been able to include illustrations in this volume, which was not the case for the previous works. The archaeological excavations concerning vestiges of these times have also developed a lot since the beginning of this century (Osirian chapels of Karnak, Tanis, Bubastis, Heraklion, Heliopolis…). This made it possible to clarify many points of history.

SFE: Does this book extend the issues dealt with in the first volumes?

Brother Payraudeau: Yes, we no longer write ancient history as we did thirty or forty years ago. Egyptology, although often accused of conservatism, has long been open to social, economic and cultural history, even if the documentation has its limits in these areas. So I wanted to give, in addition to a detailed chronological panorama of the XXIe at XXXe dynasties, an overview of knowledge and discussions on transversal subjects, absent from the first two volumes of the collection. We will thus find chapters on the monarchical state, administration, economy, culture and religion of late eras.

See summary of the book

_______________________________________________________________________________

News from “friendly” associations


On January 11, 2020, from 16:00 p.m., Mr. Bernard Mathieu will give a conference at the Association dauphinoise d'Égyptologie Champollion (ADEC), "Me, Inhermosé, high priest of Onouris"
The high priest of Onouris Inhermosé, who officiated under the reign of Mérenptah, son and successor of Ramses II, is not among the greatest figures of Pharaonic Egypt. His autobiography, however, the longest known for the Ramesside era, engraved in a rock tomb of Al-Mashayikh, not far from the ancient This, really deserves a stop.
The text, certainly by Inhermosé himself, draws on a classical tradition to add original developments. Its content and its formal elaboration make it possible to get to know this character, both a great state clerk and a fine scholar, "a scribe worthy of acclaim, a notable worthy of being praised".

________________________________________________________________________

- Last year, SFE invited Patrice Le Guilloux to present us an unknown actor of the archaeological site of Pierre Montet in Tanis, the architect Jean-Louis Fougerousse.
On the occasion of the 140e anniversary of the birth of Jean-Louis Fougerousse (1879-1953), painter and architect of the Mission Montet between 1931 and 1939, Patrice Le Guilloux, member of the MFFT, has just dedicated a book, in which he traces his life, insisting on the work done in Tanis in the light of many archival documents and unpublished watercolors, which he has recently found among some of his descendants or in private collections.
Cover Le Guilloux

The book can be ordered in bookstore by indicating the ISBN number 9782322122158. In the meantime, large extracts can be viewed at this address:
________________________________________________________________________________
A new history textbook from Egypt at Armand-Colin

Couvertureweb

In the Nile Valley, a complex cultural process emerges, one of the oldest territorial states in the world, led by a sacred kingship and an administration that develops and evolves during the almost 3000 years that separate the 1st Dynasty from the Roman conquest.
Beyond the image of an immobile Pyramids Egypt led by an all-powerful despot, the most recent research, stemming from the analysis of written and iconographic documentation as well as from the latest archaeological discoveries, led on the contrary to painting. a much more nuanced picture. From the central role of the local scale to the power games between the Court's great families, from the food economy to international trade, from the exploitation of the deserts surrounding Egypt to the long-distance expeditions to Sinai, Punt, Sudan or the Near East, it is a constantly evolving kingdom that is depicted here.
Beyond the summary of the chronological framework essential to the understanding of Egyptian history, the book addresses the historical issues of each of its major periods, touching not only history but also society and culture. by also presenting current historiographical debates.
Extracts from the manual
manual extract 2WEB2
________________________________________________________________________________
Call for papers Colloquium Mariette,
Two centuries later
Boulogne-sur-Mer,
20-21-May 2021
Jean-Louis Podvin (Coastal Opal Coast University) & Didier Devauchelle (Lille University)
Auguste Mariette was born in Boulogne-sur-Mer the 11 February 1821, a little over a year before Jean-François Champollion rediscovered the operation of the hieroglyphic system. He is passionate about Egypt at the mercy of family accidents and the purchase of a coffin by the city museum, then abandons his position as a professor at the college for a junior job at the Louvre Museum in Paris. Thirty years old, he left for Egypt, charged with a mission of purchase of papyrus that he can not carry out and transforms into excavations: he exhumes the Serapeum of Memphis, placing nasology Egyptology in a dynamic excavations and discoveries that have not stopped.
His temporary return to France does not make him forget Egypt. He returns to it, obtains from the Viceroy the possibility of creating an Antiquities Service: placed at his head as an Egyptian official, he multiplies the sites of excavations and accumulates the discoveries, which he endeavors to publish. To highlight them on the spot, he becomes the director of an ambitious museum in Egypt itself, which must be moved because of the floods of the Nile. At the same time, he is in charge of representation missions, organizes Egyptian pavilions for world exhibitions, visits during the inauguration of the Suez Canal, and participates in editing the Aïda opera. He died prematurely at age 60, worn out by illness and family tragedies as well as by the travels, the innumerable tasks and the worries caused by the administrative and political annoyances. Two centuries after his birth, we wanted to devote a conference to Mariette in his hometown, where he spent the first half of his life and where he then regularly returned to relax during periodic trips to France. This conference is organized jointly by the Coastal Opal Coast University (UR HLLI, EA 4030) and the University of Lille (HALMA, UMR 8164). The main themes are: - Mariette precursor: methods of excavation, public funding method ... - Mariette discoverer: sites (Serapeum) ... - Mariette museographer and popularizer: creation of the Boulak museum, universal exhibitions of 1867, 1878, but also 1862, participation in Aida ... - Mariette protector of antiquities: creation and direction of the Service of Antiquities, establishment of legislation on antiquities ... - Mariette, curious mind: journalist, politician and "Diplomat" ... - Mariette and Boulogne: its origins, its regular returns, the visit of Saïd Pasha, the exhibitions, the relations with the museum, its memory in its city ... - The place of Mariette in egyptology ... - Mariette editor of monuments (Karnak, Dendérah, Abydos ...) - Other themes according to the proposals made to the scientific committee. The focus will be on communications centered on the role of Mariette, on original documents ... In anticipation of funding requests and to allow the review by the scientific committee, thank you for sharing your proposal for the 30 september 2019 with a title, even provisional, a summary of ten lines, your coordinates and a short CV. Contact : This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., This e-mail address is protected against spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. Scientific Committee: Luc Delvaux (Royal Museums of Art and History, Brussels), Didier Devauchelle (University of Lille, UMR 8164 HALMA), Luc Gabolde (UMR 5140 Archeology of Mediterranean Societies, Montpellier), Hélène Guichard (Louvre Museum Department of Egyptian Antiquities), Jean-Louis Podvin (Coastal Opal Coast University, UR HLLI, EA 4030), Ghislaine Widmer (University of Lille, UMR 8164 HALMA). Place of the event: University Center of the Museum, ULCO, 34 Grande Rue, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer. Date of the event: 20 and 21 may 2021.

fr FR en EN

 Actualités

  Actualités de la Société
  - Vous trouverez ci-dessous quelques photos et vidéos de la réunion de la SFE qui s'est tenue le 01 Février 2020 à l'auditorium de l'INHA. Vous pouvez également retrouver d'autres images dans votre espace adhérent.
   
Actualités de l'égyptologie
  

- Cette semaine sort l’ouvrage L’Égypte et la vallée du Nil, tome 3, les époques tardives (1069-332 av. J.-C.) aux éditions PUF, un volume dédié aux époques tardives, depuis la XXIe dynastie jusqu’à la fin de la XXXe dynastie. C’est l’occasion pour son auteur, Frédéric Payraudeau, maître de conférence à Sorbonne Université (Paris), de nous présenter cette synthèse novatrice sur une période souvent méconnue.

   - Le 11 janvier 2020, à partir de 16h00, M. Bernard Mathieu donnera une conférence à l’Association dauphinoise d’Égyptologie Champollion (ADEC), « Moi, Inhermosé, grand prêtre d'Onouris »
  

- Appel à communication Colloque Mariette, Deux siècles après Boulogne-sur-Mer, 20-21 mai 2021; Jean-Louis Podvin (Univ. Littoral Côte d’Opale) & Didier Devauchelle (Univ. de Lille)

  

- À l’occasion du 140e anniversaire de la naissance de Jean-Louis Fougerousse (1879-1953), artiste peintre et architecte de la Mission Montet entre 1931 et 1939, Patrice Le Guilloux, membre de la MFFT, vient de lui consacrer un ouvrage,

  

- Un nouveau manuel d’histoire de l’Égypte chez Armand-Colin

________________________________________________________________________________________

Actualités de la Société

 ________________________________________________________________________________________

Vers le haut fd

Nous avons le plaisir de vous présenter quelques photos et vidéos de notre dernière séance publique du 01 Février 2020 à l’auditorium de l’INHA.

salle reunion 

Salle de réunion

__________________________________________________________________

Alain Arnaudies 

«  Deux clichés insolites du temple de Karnak » 

Alain Arnaudiès

 ______________________________________________________________________________________________

Simon Connor 

« Transformer, remployer ou usurper des statues en Égypte ancienne »

Simon Connor

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

Massimiliano Nuzzolo  

« La Pierre de Palerme. Nouvelle enquête et découvertes sur les plus anciennes Annales royales égyptiennes »

de Massimiliano Nuzzolo

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Actualités de l'égyptologie

couverture payraudeau

Cette semaine sort l’ouvrage L’Égypte et la vallée du Nil, tome 3, les époques tardives (1069-332 av. J.-C.) aux éditions PUF, un volume dédié aux époques tardives, depuis la XXIe dynastie jusqu’à la fin de la XXXe dynastie. C’est l’occasion pour son auteur, Frédéric Payraudeau, maître de conférence à Sorbonne Université (Paris), de nous présenter cette synthèse novatrice sur une période souvent méconnue.

SFE : Cet ouvrage était attendu depuis longtemps !

Fr. Payraudeau : En effet, ce 3e volume de la collection Clio paraît plus de 25 ans après les précédents. C’est paradoxalement une chance, car la connaissance de ces périodes a profondément plus évolué dans les 30 dernières années que dans le siècle précédent. Aujourd’hui, elles nous paraissent moins marquées par la décadence que par des adaptations successives qui permirent à la civilisation égyptienne de perdurer un millénaire après la chute des Ramsès. La multiplication des études sur les époques tardives depuis 20 ans, notamment en Europe, a enrichi notablement l’ouvrage mais a ralenti sa rédaction, qui s’est étalée sur plus de 8 ans. La bibliographie, pourtant sélective, s’étend sur 75 pages !

SFE : Quelles ont été ces grandes avancées concernant ces périodes ?

Fr. Payraudeau : Ces questions ne se posent pas de la même manière pour la Troisième Période intermédiaire et l’Époque tardive. Pour la première, la simple succession des pharaons est encore quelquefois problématique mais a beaucoup progressé depuis les travaux de Jean Yoyotte et de Kenneth Kitchen. En ce qui concerne l’Époque tardive, les connaissances historiques étaient déjà solides, mais la période a fait l’objet d’une réévaluation dans le domaine culturel notamment. L’art de ces époques est désormais apprécié à sa juste valeur par les spécialistes de l’Égypte ancienne comme par le public averti, ainsi que l’ont montré les expositions récentes au Musée Jacquemart-André et au Musée de Grenoble. Je suis d’ailleurs heureux d’avoir pu intégrer des illustrations dans ce volume, ce qui n’était pas le cas pour les ouvrages précédents. Les fouilles archéologiques concernant des vestiges de ces époques se sont aussi beaucoup développées depuis le début de ce siècle (Chapelles osiriennes de Karnak, Tanis, Bubastis, Héraklion, Héliopolis…). Cela a permis de préciser bien des points d’histoire.

SFE : Cet ouvrage élargit-il les problématiques traitées dans les premiers volumes ?

Fr. Payraudeau : Oui, on n’écrit plus l’Histoire ancienne comme on le faisait il y a trente ou quarante ans. L’Égyptologie, bien que souvent taxée de conservatisme, s’est ouverte depuis longtemps à l’histoire sociale, économique et culturelle, même si la documentation a ses limites dans ces domaines. J’ai donc souhaité donner, en plus d’un panorama chronologique détaillé des XXIe à XXXe dynasties, un aperçu des connaissances et discussions sur des sujets transversaux, absents des deux premiers volumes de la collection. On trouvera ainsi des chapitres sur l’État monarchique, l’administration, l’économie, la culture et la religion des époques tardives.

Voir sommaire de l'ouvrage

_______________________________________________________________________________

Actualité des associations « amies »


Le 11 janvier 2020, à partir de 16h00, M. Bernard Mathieu donnera une conférence à l’Association dauphinoise d’Égyptologie Champollion (ADEC), « Moi, Inhermosé, grand prêtre d'Onouris »
Le grand-prêtre d’Onouris Inhermosé, qui officia sous le règne de Mérenptah, fils et successeur de Ramsès II, ne compte pas au nombre des plus grandes figures de l’Égypte pharaonique. Son autobiographie, pourtant, la plus longue connue pour l’époque ramesside, gravée dans une tombe rupestre d’Al-Mashayikh, non loin de l'ancienne This, mérite véritablement qu’on s’y arrête.
Le texte, certainement de la main d’Inhermosé lui-même, puise dans une tradition classique pour y ajouter des développements originaux. Son contenu et son élaboration formelle permettent de faire la connaissance de ce personnage, à la fois grand commis de l'État et fin lettré, « un scribe digne d’être acclamé, un notable digne d’être vanté ».

________________________________________________________________________

- L’année dernière, la SFE invitait Patrice Le Guilloux à nous présenter un acteur méconnu du chantier archéologique de Pierre Montet à Tanis, l’architecte Jean-Louis Fougerousse.
À l’occasion du 140e anniversaire de la naissance de Jean-Louis Fougerousse (1879-1953), artiste peintre et architecte de la Mission Montet entre 1931 et 1939, Patrice Le Guilloux, membre de la MFFT, vient de lui consacrer un ouvrage, dans lequel il retrace sa vie, en insistant sur le travail accompli à Tanis à la lumière de nombreux documents d’archives et d’aquarelles inédits, qu’il a récemment retrouvés chez certains de ses descendants ou dans des collections privées.
 
Couverture Le Guilloux

L’ouvrage peut être commandé en librairie en indiquant le n° ISBN 9782322122158. En attendant, de larges extraits peuvent être visionnés à cette adresse :
________________________________________________________________________________
 
Un nouveau manuel d’histoire de l’Égypte chez Armand-Colin

Couvertureweb

Dans la vallée du Nil, émerge au terme d’un processus culturel complexe l’un des plus anciens États territoriaux du monde, dirigé par une royauté sacrée et une administration qui se développe et évolue durant les presque 3000 ans qui séparent la Ire dynastie de la conquête romaine.
Au-delà de l’image d’une Égypte des pyramides immobile dirigée par un despote tout puissant, les recherches les plus récentes, issues de l’analyse de la documentation écrite et iconographique autant que des dernières découvertes archéologiques, amènent au contraire à peindre un tableau beaucoup plus nuancé. Du rôle essentiel de l’échelle locale aux jeux de pouvoir entre grandes familles de la Cour, de l’économie vivrière aux échanges internationaux, de l’exploitation des déserts entourant l’Égypte aux expéditions au long cours vers le Sinaï, Pount, le Soudan ou le Proche-Orient, c’est un royaume en constante évolution qui est ici dépeint.
Au-delà du résumé de la trame chronologique essentielle à la compréhension de l’histoire égyptienne, l’ouvrage aborde les problématiques historiques propres à chacune de ses grandes périodes, touchant à l’histoire, mais aussi à la société et à la culture, en présentant également les débats historiographiques en cours.
Extraits du manuel
extrait manuel 2WEB2
 
________________________________________________________________________________
Appel à communication Colloque Mariette,
Deux siècles après
Boulogne-sur-Mer,
20-21 mai 2021
Jean-Louis Podvin (Univ. Littoral Côte d’Opale) & Didier Devauchelle (Univ. de Lille)
Auguste Mariette naît à Boulogne-sur-Mer le 11 février 1821, soit un peu plus d’un an avant que Jean-François Champollion ne redécouvre le fonctionnement du système hiéroglyphique. Il se passionne pour l’Égypte au gré de hasards familiaux et de l’achat d’un cercueil par le musée de la ville, puis abandonne son poste de professeur au collège pour un emploi subalterne au musée du Louvre à Paris. Âgé de trente ans, il part pour l’Égypte, chargé d’une mission d’achat de papyrus qu’il ne peut mener à bien et transforme en fouilles : il exhume le Serapeum de Memphis, plaçant l’égyptologie naissante dans une dynamique de chantiers de fouilles et de découvertes qui n’ont dès lors plus cessé.
Son retour provisoire en France ne lui fait pas oublier l’Égypte. Il y revient, obtient du vice-roi la possibilité de créer un Service des antiquités : placé à sa tête en tant que fonctionnaire égyptien, il multiplie les chantiers de fouilles et accumule les découvertes, qu’il s’efforce de publier. Pour les mettre en valeur sur place, il devient le directeur d’un musée ambitieux en Égypte même, qu’il faut déplacer en raison des crues du Nil. Parallèlement, il est chargé de missions de représentation, organise les pavillons égyptiens aux expositions universelles, les visites lors de l’inauguration du Canal de Suez, et participe au montage de l’opéra Aïda. Il s’éteint prématurément à 60 ans, usé par la maladie et les drames familiaux tout autant que par les déplacements, les tâches innombrables et les soucis causés par les tracasseries administratives et politiques. Deux siècles après sa naissance, nous avons souhaité consacrer à Mariette un colloque dans sa ville natale, là où il a passé la première moitié de sa vie et où il est ensuite régulièrement retourné pour se ressourcer lors de séjours périodiques en France. Ce colloque est organisé conjointement par l’Université Littoral Côte d’Opale (UR HLLI, EA 4030) et l’Université de Lille (HALMA, UMR 8164). Les thèmes privilégiés sont les suivants : - Mariette précurseur : méthodes de fouille, mode de financement public... - Mariette découvreur : sites (Serapeum)... - Mariette muséographe et vulgarisateur : création du musée de Boulak, expositions universelles de 1867, 1878, mais aussi de 1862, participation à Aïda... - Mariette protecteur des antiquités : création et direction du Service des Antiquités, mise en place d’une législation sur les antiquités... - Mariette, esprit curieux : journaliste, politique et « diplomate » … - Mariette et Boulogne : ses origines, ses retours réguliers, la visite de Saïd Pacha, les expositions, les relations avec le musée, sa mémoire dans sa ville... - La place de Mariette dans l’égyptologie… - Mariette éditeur de monuments (Karnak, Dendérah, Abydos…) - Autres thèmes en fonction des propositions faites au comité scientifique. L’accent sera mis sur les communications centrées sur le rôle de Mariette, sur des documents originaux... En prévision des demandes de financement et pour en permettre l’examen par le comité scientifique, merci de nous faire part de votre proposition pour le 30 septembre 2019 avec un titre, même provisoire, un résumé d’une dizaine de lignes, vos coordonnées et un court CV. Contact : Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser., Cette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. Comité scientifique : Luc Delvaux (Musées royaux d’Art et d’Histoire, Bruxelles), Didier Devauchelle (Université de Lille, UMR 8164 HALMA), Luc Gabolde (UMR 5140 Archéologie des sociétés méditerranéennes, Montpellier), Hélène Guichard (Musée du Louvre, Département des Antiquités égyptiennes), Jean-Louis Podvin (Université Littoral Côte d’Opale, UR HLLI, EA 4030), Ghislaine Widmer (Université de Lille, UMR 8164 HALMA). Lieu de la manifestation : Centre Universitaire du Musée, ULCO, 34 Grande Rue, 62200 Boulogne-sur-Mer. Date de la manifestation : 20 et 21 mai 2021.