fr FR en EN

Throughout the twelve years that have just passed, I have had the pleasure of supporting the transformations of our company in several respects, in particular with the creation and the progressive development of its website, about which I spoke at the instant. This has become, thanks to the constant dedication of Jean-Pierre Soléry, a central element of our communication, the major link that unites us all, even in difficult times. A real showcase for the SFE, it allows everyone to obtain original data on Egyptian sites - in particular thanks to the exceptional portfolio of photos that François Gourdon generously makes available to all - and offers the possibility of online access to all our publications, BSFE et RdE. Information on the major events - seminars, conferences, exhibitions - which punctuate the progress of our subject can also be found there in a more general way, as well as on the Facebook page that accompanies it. Thanks to him, we have joined the evolution of a contemporary world that we could no longer ignore.

This period was also that of a real modernization of our publications, without however betraying its spirit. The contracts which united us to the publishing house Peeters, whose weight - more than 30 euros per year - was heavily felt on the finances of the association, were renegotiated to our advantage. Our publisher now fully supports the printing and distribution of the Review of Egyptology, as well as its distribution to all of our members, in return for the exclusivity of its sale to institutional organizations. On this occasion, the layout of this publication was also revised, the color was systematically integrated and the cover redesigned according to more current criteria. However, we have kept complete independence on the content of the publication, for which the editorial secretariat, provided by Laetitia Gallet, remained entirely our responsibility. Our bulletin, entrusted to Khéops editions, has at the same time undergone a profound reorganization, to become a more attractive, more comprehensive journal, better reflecting the intellectual activity of our company and better responding to the expectations of a large part of our members. . However, its realization has sometimes been a source of tension in recent years, and I am now convinced that the SFE would have an interest in taking full control of this publication, because it has the technical means, both for financial questions and for the preservation of its intellectual independence. This decision will naturally fall to my successor.

Because, if our company was able in time to take the turn of a certain modernization, which was the pledge of its survival, we must not hide that its existence remains precarious in spite of everything, like our treasurer, Gérard Bizien - whom I thank for its unwavering help for twelve years now - has had the opportunity to remind you on several occasions during the presentation of our successive financial statements. Despite difficult economic conditions, we have managed to keep SFE's accounts in relative balance, but we have not, however, increased its revenues. The number of members who have remained faithful to us during this period has only diminished very little - contrary to what is currently happening in many learned associations comparable to ours - but the recruitment of new members, especially among students. and young researchers, remains a major challenge, which in many ways involves the future of our association. New means of communication will undoubtedly have to be imagined, and implemented in this perspective, in the years to come.

In conclusion, I would like to warmly thank all the members of the office who have taken on the responsibility of the SFE with me during this last mandate, and in particular Nathalie Favry and Laetitia Gallet, who have taken on the heavy, often thankless, load of ensuring the daily life of our society, and to manage the inevitable small tensions and annoyances which can also result from it. Thank you all, and may for a long time remain the positive spirit of the passion for Egypt that brings us together in our association.

Yours faithfully,

Pierre Tallet

 

 

 Back to the home page

fr FR en EN

Tout au long des douze années qui viennent de s’écouler, j’ai eu le plaisir d’accompagner les transformations de notre société à plusieurs égards, avec notamment la création et le développement progressif de son site internet, dont je parlais à l’instant. Celui-ci est devenu, grâce au dévouement constant de Jean-Pierre Soléry, un élément central de notre communication, le lien majeur qui nous unit tous, même en des périodes difficiles. Véritable vitrine de la SFE, il permet à chacun d’obtenir des données originales sur les sites égyptiens — notamment grâce au portefeuille exceptionnel des photos que François Gourdon y met généreusement à la disposition de tous —  et offre la possibilité d’accéder en ligne à toutes nos publications, BSFE et RdE. Une information sur les grands événements — colloques, conférences, expositions — qui rythment les avancées de notre matière s’y trouve aussi de façon plus générale, de même que sur la page Facebook qui l’accompagne. Nous avons grâce à lui rejoint l’évolution d’un monde contemporain que nous ne pouvions plus ignorer.

Cette période a également été celle d’une réelle modernisation de nos publications, sans toutefois en trahir l’esprit. Les contrats qui nous unissaient à la maison d’éditions Peeters, dont le poids  — plus de 30 000 euros annuels — se faisait lourdement sentir sur les finances de l’association, ont été renégociés à notre avantage. Notre éditeur prend maintenant totalement en charge l’impression et la diffusion de la Revue d’égyptologie, ainsi que sa distribution à l’ensemble de nos adhérents, en contrepartie de l’exclusivité de sa vente aux organismes institutionnels. À cette occasion, la maquette de cette publication a également été revue, la couleur y a été systématiquement intégrée et la couverture repensée selon des critères plus actuels. Nous avons toutefois gardé une complète indépendance sur le contenu de la publication, dont le secrétariat de rédaction, assuré par Laetitia Gallet, est resté entièrement de notre responsabilité. Notre Bulletin, confié aux éditions Khéops, a fait parallèlement l’objet d’un profond remaniement, pour devenir une revue plus attractive, plus fournie, reflétant mieux l’activité intellectuelle de notre société et répondant mieux aux attentes d’une grande partie de nos adhérents. Sa réalisation a cependant parfois été source de tensions ces dernières années, et je suis maintenant convaincu que la SFE aurait intérêt à reprendre entièrement en main cette publication, car elle en a les moyens techniques, aussi bien pour des questions financières que pour la préservation de son indépendance intellectuelle. Cette décision incombera naturellement à mon successeur.

Car, si notre société a pu à temps prendre le virage d’une certaine modernisation, qui était le gage de sa survie, il ne faut pas se cacher que son existence reste malgré tout précaire, comme notre trésorier, Gérard Bizien — que je remercie pour son aide indéfectible depuis maintenant douze ans —  a eu l’occasion de le rappeler à plusieurs reprises lors de la présentation de nos bilans financiers successifs. Nous avons réussi à maintenir, en dépit d’une conjoncture difficile, les comptes de la SFE dans un relatif équilibre, mais nous n’avons pas pour autant accru ses recettes. Le nombre des membres qui nous sont restés fidèles au cours de cette période n’a que très peu diminué — contrairement à ce qui se produit actuellement dans de nombreuses associations savantes comparables à la nôtre —  mais le recrutement de nouveaux adhérents, notamment parmi les étudiants et les jeunes chercheurs, reste un défi majeur, qui engage à bien des égards l’avenir de notre association. De nouveaux moyens de communication devront sans doute être imaginés, et mis en œuvre dans cette perspective, au cours des années à venir.

Je souhaite pour terminer remercier chaleureusement tous les membres du bureau qui ont assuré avec moi la responsabilité de la SFE au cours de ce dernier mandat, et tout particulièrement Nathalie Favry et Laetitia Gallet, qui ont assuré la charge lourde, souvent ingrate, d’assurer le quotidien de notre société, et de gérer les inévitables petites tensions et contrariétés qui peuvent également en découler. À tous merci, et puisse encore longtemps demeurer l’esprit positif de la passion pour l’Égypte qui nous réunit au sein de notre association.

Bien fidèlement à vous tous,

Pierre Tallet

 

 

 Retour à la page accueil