fr FR en EN

Studies to become an Egyptologist

Several courses are possible to train in Egyptology, each approaching the ancient Egyptian civilization from a specific angle and complementary to the others.

If one generally does not gain access to a permanent position in Egyptology - as a lecturer, researcher at the CNRS, research engineer or study engineer - only after having defended a doctoral thesis in History, History of Art or Archeology, it is also possible to participate in excavation sites as a topographer, biologist, architect, photographer etc.  

 In other words, for high school students who are considering a career as Egyptologist, the path chosen for the baccalaureate does not matter. However, only general or technological baccalaureates open the doors of the university, unless you subsequently pass the DAEU (Diploma of access to university studies).

If the choice of the baccalaureate course is not of primary importance for undertaking Egyptological studies, it is nevertheless essential to master the reading of English and German, which are very important languages ​​in Egyptological literature.

A complete Egyptological course can be followed in several higher education establishments in France, whether within the Faculty of History or History of Art and Archeology:

-        Sorbonne University,

-        Charles de Gaulle-Lille 3 ,

-        Light-Lyon 2  (with a special curriculum, the DUESE),

-        Paul Valery-Montpellier III ,

-        Strasbourg,

-        École du Louvre in Paris

-        The School of Advanced Studies (EPHE) in Paris (from the Master only).

Other universities offer introductions to Egyptology, which do not, however, allow you to continue the course to the end, so that you have to consider changing universities before entering the third year of the Bachelor's degree. so as to approach the Master with the most complete training possible. Whatever the institution chosen, it is highly recommended to start learning the Egyptian language - preferably the Egyptian medium to begin with - from the undergraduate years. Private organizations, such asKhufu Institute of Paris, or local Egyptian associations also provide language courses, sometimes also by correspondence. 

In order to forge a solid working method, students are strongly advised to undertake a preparatory class for the grandes écoles (CPGE), at the end of which they will take the competitive examination for the École normale supérieure (ENS) or the School of Charters. At the same time as the CPGE, students can register cumulatively - that is to say, they do not follow the courses and do not take the partial ones - in a university. Thus, at the end of the preparatory stage, they can continue their studies in their home university, without having to start over from the beginning thanks to the system of equivalences and compensation.

The preferred courses in university for approaching Egyptology are History, History of Art and Archeology and Classics. There are links from one discipline to another, which allow a student to change streams during the course. However, it is important to choose well not only the course - a student wishing to train in the Greco-Roman period, for example, should consider the question of classical letters, to learn about papyrology or to improve in Latin and in Greek - but also the university which one wishes to integrate according to the specialties of the teachers who will govern the choice of the subject of Master and, possibly, of thesis.

After the 2e university cycle (Master), various professional possibilities are offered, not only to increase his experience, but also to ensure his subsistence. Here again, the choice of the source of origin is essential. Many history students decide to take the CAPES and Aggregation in order to become, for a time at least, a teacher in middle and high schools. Obtaining these competitions is then a significant asset when applying for university positions. Studies of 2e cycle also allow students of Art History and Archeology to take the Heritage Competitions (curator or conservation attaché, for example).

While various scholarships exist for students of 1er and 2e cycles, it should be noted that few doctoral students (3e cycle) have the chance to land a three-year “doctoral contract” which provides them with an income while they work on their thesis. For others, it is often necessary to find other resources such as library, museum or university vacations. It is also possible for some to benefit from an ATER position (temporary teaching and research attaché) at the end of their doctorate.  

            Once the thesis is defended, various possibilities for post-doctoral contracts of one or more years are available to young doctors so that they can develop their research activities, enrich their CV and embark on the preparation of competitions for positions in university or CNRS.

We have just given you a brief overview of the possibilities open to you to undertake studies in Egyptology. It is obviously far from cross-checking all the questions you can ask yourself. Therefore, if you still have questions, do not hesitate to contact us for more details.

fr FR en EN

Les études pour devenir égyptologue

Plusieurs cursus sont envisageables pour se former à l’égyptologie, chacun abordant la civilisation égyptienne antique sous un angle spécifique et complémentaire des autres.

Si l’on n’accède généralement à un poste pérenne en égyptologie -- comme Maître de Conférence, Chargé de recherche au CNRS, Ingénieur de recherche ou Ingénieur d’étude -- qu’après avoir soutenu une thèse de doctorat en Histoire, Histoire de l’Art ou Archéologie, il est également possible de participer à des chantiers de fouilles en tant que topographe, biologiste, architecte, photographe etc.  

 Autrement dit, pour les lycéens qui envisagent une carrière d’égyptologue, la filière choisie pour le baccalauréat importe peu. Cependant, seuls les baccalauréats général ou technologique ouvrent les portes de l’université, à moins de passer ultérieurement le DAEU (Diplôme d’accès aux études universitaires).

Si le choix de la filière du baccalauréat n’est pas de première importance pour entreprendre des études égyptologiques, il est toutefois essentiel de maîtriser la lecture de l’anglais et de l’allemand qui sont des langues très importantes dans la littérature égyptologique.

Un cursus égyptologique complet peut être suivi dans plusieurs établissements d’enseignement supérieur en France, que ce soit au sein des UFR d’Histoire ou d’Histoire de l’art et d’Archéologie :

-        Sorbonne Université,

-        Charles de Gaulle-Lille 3 ,

-        Lumière-Lyon 2  (avec un cursus spécialise, le DUESE),

-        Paul Valéry-Montpellier III ,

-        Strasbourg,

-        École du Louvre à Paris,

-        L’École Pratique des Hautes Études (EPHE) à Paris (à partir du Master uniquement).

D’autres universités proposent des initiations à l’égyptologie, qui ne permettent toutefois pas de poursuivre jusqu’au bout le cursus, de sorte qu’il faut alors envisager de changer d’université avant d’accéder à la troisième année de Licence de manière à aborder le Master avec la formation la plus complète possible. Quel que soit l’établissement choisi, il est grandement recommandé de débuter l’apprentissage de la langue égyptienne – de préférence le moyen égyptien pour commencer – dès les années de Licence. Des organismes privés, comme l’Institut Khéops de Paris, ou des associations égyptologiques locales dispensent également des cours de langue, parfois aussi par correspondance. 

Afin de se forger une solide méthode de travail, il est vivement conseillé aux élèves d’entreprendre une classe préparatoire aux grandes écoles (CPGE), à l’issue de laquelle ils présenteront le concours de l’École normale supérieure (ENS) ou de l’École des chartes.  Parallèlement à la CPGE, les étudiants peuvent s’inscrire en cumulatif – c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne suivent pas les cours et ne passent pas les partiels – dans une université. Ainsi au sortir de la prépa peuvent-ils poursuivre leur cursus dans leur université de rattachement, sans avoir à tout reprendre depuis le début grâce au système d’équivalences et de compensations.

Les filières privilégiées en université pour aborder l’égyptologie sont l’Histoire, l’Histoire de l’art et Archéologie et les Lettres classiques. Il existe des passerelles d’une discipline à l’autre, qui permettent à un étudiant de changer de filière en cours de cursus. Cependant, il est important de bien choisir non seulement la filière – un étudiant désireux de se former sur la période gréco-romaine, par exemple, devrait envisager la question des lettres classiques, pour s’initier à la papyrologie ou se perfectionner en latin et en grec – mais aussi l’université que l’on souhaite intégrer en fonction des spécialités des enseignants qui régiront le choix du sujet de Master et, éventuellement, de thèse.

Après le 2e cycle universitaire (Master), diverses possibilités professionnelles s’offrent, non seulement pour accroître son expérience, mais aussi pour assurer sa subsistance. Là encore le choix de la filière d’origine est primordial. Nombre d’étudiants en Histoire se décident à passer le CAPES et l’Agrégation afin de devenir, pour un temps au moins, professeur en collèges et lycées. L’obtention de ces concours constitue par la suite un atout non négligeable lors des candidatures aux postes en université. Les études de 2e cycle permettent aussi aux étudiants d’Histoire de l’art et Archéologie de se présenter aux concours du Patrimoine (conservateur ou attaché de conservation par exemple).

Si diverses bourses existent pour les étudiants de 1er et 2e cycles, il faut souligner que peu d’étudiants en doctorat (3e cycle) ont la chance de décrocher un « contrat doctoral » de trois ans qui leur assure un revenu pendant qu’ils travaillent à leur thèse. Pour les autres, il est souvent nécessaire de trouver d’autres ressources comme des vacations en bibliothèque, dans les musées ou les universités. Il est également possible pour certains de bénéficier d’un poste d’ATER (attaché temporaire d'enseignement et de recherche) à la fin de son doctorat.  

            Une fois la thèse soutenue, diverses possibilités de contrats post-doctoraux d’une ou plusieurs années s’offrent aux jeunes docteurs afin qu’ils développent leurs activités de recherche, enrichissent leur CV et se lancent dans la préparation des concours pour des postes en université ou au CNRS.

Nous venons de vous livrer un bref panorama des possibilités qui s’offrent à vous pour entreprendre des études en égyptologie. Il est bien évidemment loin de recouper toutes les questions que vous pouvez vous poser. Par conséquent, s’il vous reste des questions, n’hésitez pas à nous contacter pour plus de précisions.